Under Massachusetts Law, driver’s between the ages of 16 ½ and 18 years old are given a “Massachusetts Junior Operator’s License (JOL)” which places certain additional restriction on young driver’s. Beyond the additional driving restrictions placed on junior operators, the penalties for traffic ticket convictions are much more severe. If you or your child has been issued a traffic ticket and or is facing a Massachusetts JOL License Suspension, it is important to speak with an experienced Boston Junior Operator License Attorney about your situation as soon as possible. Our firm understands that enormous difficulties that come with having your license suspended as a junior operator. We are well versed in the traffic laws of Massachusetts as they pertain to young drivers and will work tirelessly to ensure that you or your loved one’s license will remain valid.
Penalties for Holders of a Massachusetts Junior Operator Driver’s License
While being found responsible on a traffic citation as a junior operator almost always causes a large spike in the amount of money owed each month for your insurance premium, the ticket may also result in a lengthy license suspension and additional fees. Furthermore, the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) may require the completion of a driver retraining course and/or the “State Courts Against Road Rage (SCARR)” course. Finally, the MA RMV may require the individual to re-take the full exam prior to getting his or her driver’s license back. The punishment depends upon which offense was committed. The following is a brief outline of the more common driving offenses and punishments:
Passenger Restriction Violation
One of the more well-known JOL restrictions is the passenger restriction law. Under this law, a junior operator may not drive with any passenger who is under the age of 18 in the vehicle for the first 6 months unless the individual is a family member or the driver is accompanied by a person occupying the seat next to the young driver who is at least 21 years of age who has at least 1 year of driving experience and holds a valid driver’s license.
If you receive a ticket for violating the passenger restriction law and either pay the citation or lose the appeal, your JOL will be suspended for 60 days for your first offense and you will then be required to pay a $100 reinstatement fee at the RMV. If you are convicted of violating the passenger restriction law a second time, the RMV will require a reinstatement fee of $100, the completion of a Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course and will suspend your license for 180 days. Finally, if you are found in violation of the passenger restriction law a 3rd time, your license will be suspended for 1 year, you will be required to complete the Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course, take the Full Exam, and pay a $100 reinstatement fee to the registry.
Speeding Ticket for Junior Operators
Many young drivers and their families are unaware of the severe penalty for speeding as a junior operator. The first time that a Junior Operator is convicted of speeding, he or she will have their driver’s license suspended for 90 days and will be required to pass a full exam, complete the Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course, complete the SCARR program and pay a $500 reinstatement fee. For a 2nd or 3rd speeding conviction, a JOL will be suspended for 1 year in addition to the 2 courses, full exam and reinstatement fee requirements. Given the strict penalties for speeding as a JOL, it is important to speak with a Massachusetts Traffic Attorney about your situation and the impact of paying a citation versus appealing the ticket.
Use of a Mobile Electronic Device (text or call on phone) with a JOL
With the exception of reporting an emergency, drivers under the age of 18 are banned from using any electronic device, such as a cell phone, for any reason while operating a motor vehicle. For a first offense, the RMV will suspend the driver’s license for 60 days and will require the completion of a driver retraining course and full exam on top of a $100 reinstatement fee. A second conviction will result in a 180 day license suspension plus a $100 reinstatement fee. A third conviction will result in a $100 reinstatement fee and a 1 year license suspension.
MA Junior Operator Time Restriction Violation
A holder of a MA Junior Operator License is restricted from operating a motor vehicle between the hours of 12:30am and 5:00am unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. Commonly referred to as the JOL “night restriction,” young drivers face a 60 day license suspension and a $100 reinstatement fee for their first offense. For a second offense, the RMV will suspend the license for 180 days and will require the completion of the Driver Retraining Course on top of the $100 reinstatement fee. Finally, for a third offense, the RMV requires the completion of the Driver Retraining Course, a full exam, a $100 reinstatement fee and will suspend the JOL for 1 year.
Other Junior Operator License Offenses
In addition to the above mentioned violations, the following offenses are also common among Junior Operators:
• Seat Belt Violations
• OUI Liquor or Drugs
• Reckless Operation or Negligent Operation / Operating as to Endanger
• Negligent Operation and Injury from Mobile Phone Use
• Other Traffic Violations
Cambridge, Massachusetts JOL License Attorney
At our firm, we understand the importance of having a driver’s license as a young adult. License issues can cause problems with family obligations, employment, school or even college applications. We take pride in providing outstanding legal advice to clients dealing with traffic tickets and license suspensions throughout the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
If you or a family member holds a Massachusetts Junior Operator’s License and has been issued a traffic ticket or is dealing with a license suspension, contact the Boston JOL Traffic Law Firm of Caselden Law to speak with a dedicated Boston Junior Operator Lawyer about your case.
You may contact us 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. All initial consultations are free of charge.