Boston, Massachusetts Leaving the Scene of an Accident Defense Lawyer
In Massachusetts, the police may criminally charge a driver for the offense of leaving the scene of an accident. Frequently, driver’s will learn that they have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident when they receive a summons in the mail from the District Court for a criminal clerk magistrate’s hearing on an application for a criminal complaint. Alternatively, the police may go directly to the accused’s home and either arrest the suspect or give him or her a ticket listing a criminal offense.
While the situation may simply have been a misunderstanding, courts generally take this charge very seriously and the punishment for a leaving the scene conviction ranges from fines to jail time. Furthermore, if you are convicted of this crime, the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles will suspend your driver’s license. Given the serious nature of these charges, it is often in your best interests to speak with an experienced Boston, Massachusetts leaving the scene of an accident lawyer about your case as soon as possible about your case.
Criminal Charges following a Leaving the Scene Ticket or Summons in Massachusetts
Under Massachusetts Law, you may be arrested or summonsed to court if the police believe that you are involved in a car accident and did not stop immediately and exchange information with the other driver. The Massachusetts District Court or Boston Municipal Court will then set up the case for one of 2 events:
- Criminal Clerk Magistrate Hearing;
- Letter from the Police Department regarding a “Crash Investigation”; or
Often times, the District Court or Boston Municipal Court will send an “Application for a Criminal Complaint Notice” or Notice of a Clerk Magistrate Hearing on an Application for a Criminal Complaint in the mail to the accused. Otherwise, the court or bail clerk will give you notification of when to appear in court to be arraigned. As a client of Caselden Law, your Boston, MA Criminal Defense Lawyer will fully explain your rights and will explore every legal avenue available in order to achieve the best result possible.
Through our superior legal counsel and client focused approach to the practice of law, our firm strives to minimize the stress and ambiguity that often accompanies the criminal process.
Our firm is conveniently located in Cambridge, Massachusetts and represents clients in courthouses throughout the Commonwealth.
The crime of leaving the scene of an accident in Massachusetts takes 3 different forms depending on the circumstances:
Leaving the Scene of Property Damage in Massachusetts
If you were allegedly involved in an accident which caused only property damage, you will be facing the charge of leaving the scene of property damage. This situation may arise if there was a hit and run accident with another car or if a car strikes a pole, building, guardrail or some other object. Under the applicable Massachusetts General Law, the penalty for this offense includes fines from $20 to $200 and jail time of 2 weeks to 2 years. While the potential penalties for this charge may seem severe, an experienced Greater Boston criminal defense attorney may be able to successful dispose of the case through negotiations with the prosecuting district attorneys short of going to trial. If, on the other hand, your case cannot be resolved during the pre-trial process, our firm will aggressively advocate on your behalf at trial to the judge and/or jury.
Leaving the Scene of Personal Injury in Massachusetts
The crime of leaving the scene of an accident in which someone was injured is a more serious offense than leaving the scene of property damage. The accident may involve injury to an occupant of another vehicle, a bicyclist, pedestrian or any other bystander. If charged with this crime, a defendant faces a potential fine of $500 to $1000 and jail time ranging from 6 months to 2 years under Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 26. Our Boston firm is well versed in the laws pertaining to leaving the scene in MA and will closely analyze every aspect of the case being brought by the district attorney in order to put you in the best position for success.
Leaving the Scene of Personal Injury Resulting in Death
The most serious hit & run charge is leaving the scene of personal injury resulting in death. This crime is considered a felony and carries with it a potential fine of $1,000 – $5,000 and a state prison sentence from 2 ½ to 10 years or jail for 1 to 2 ½ years. It is important to note that this charge carries what is known as a mandatory minimum sentence. If charged with this serious criminal offense, it is strongly recommended that you contact a criminal defense lawyer about your rights.
Massachusetts Leaving the Scene of an Accident Defense Attorney
Located in Cambridge, our Greater Boston criminal defense law firm understands the enormous stress that comes with facing criminal charges. We will work tirelessly to develop an effective trial strategy in order to achieve the most successful result possible. Your Boston leaving the scene lawyer at Caselden Law will zealously advocate on your behalf and will fully explore every legal option available in your case.
We will be by your side throughout the entire process – providing top quality legal counsel every step of the way. If you or a loved one has been charged with leaving the scene of an accident, contact our Cambridge, Massachusetts Criminal Defense Law Firm to receive a free and confidential case quote.
All Leaving the Scene of an Accident cases are handled on a Flat-Fee Basis.